Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

2014 Writer's Hall of Fame and Silver Pen Award Reciptients

Shaun T. Griffin, Ronald M. James and Alicia M. Barber

The 27th Annual Nevada Writers Hall of Fame program will be held at 6 p.m. on Thursday, November 13, 2014, in the Milt Glick Ballroom in the Joe Crowley Student Union. Shaun T. Griffin and Ronald M. James are being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Alicia M. Barber is receiving the Silver Pen award.

While Special Collections and the Knowledge Center’s circulating collection have copies of many of the publications of the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame and Silver Pen authors, University Archives provides access to other relevant resources. The Archives’ Sound Recordings Collection (AC 0062) includes sound disks of Dr. James Hulse’s 1973 interview with University President Minard Stout. Other disks in the collection are of KUNR’s Western Writers Series, with readings by Bill Douglass, Shaun Griffin, Teresa Jordan, Steven Nightingale, nila northSun, Gailmarie Pahmeier, Kirk Robertson, Bernie Schopen, Emma Sepulveda, Gary Short, and Sally Zanjani. The manuscript collection NUB 16 provides a transcript of a 1960 campus lecture by Robert Laxalt.

The Friends of the University Libraries manuscript collection, AC 0446, includes DVDs of the “Voices: Great Moments in Literature” program from February 1993, with readings by Emma Sepulveda, Shaun Griffin, Rollan Melton, Robert Laxalt, and Clay Jenkinson. A DVD from October 2001 records Rollan Melton’s acceptance speech on the occasion of his induction into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. Another DVD set makes available the 2002 award ceremony, with readings by Carolyn Duferrena, Gregory Martin, and Tom Meschery. That year Neal Ferguson was master of ceremonies, and Bob Blesse presented the awards.

For detailed information about all of the award recipients, visit the new online guide:

For more information or to make reservations, contact Breanne Standingwater at or (775) 682-6022.

27th Annual Writer's Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *